A lot of people have no idea about the Lemon Law in general and the California Lemon Law particularly. So here are some frequently asked questions and the answers to them to help you understand the essence of these laws. It should be mentioned here that the Lemon Law is a federal law and the California Lemon Law is a state law that protects buyers of defective consumer goods within the state of California. The lemon laws, however, mainly refer to vehicles.
What products does the Lemon Law apply to?
The Lemon Law applies to all the consumer products that cost at least $25 and come with a written warranty.
Does California Lemon Law apply to both leased and purchased vehicles?
Yes, California Lemon Law covers both leased and purchased vehicles.
Are motor homes, recreational vehicles, boats and yachts covered by California Lemon Law?
Yes, the law covers all the aforementioned vehicles.
Is it required to have four or more repair attempts for a vehicle to qualify under California Lemon Law?
No, not necessarily. If the vehicle defect is a severe one and may cause fatalities, then even two repair attempts may be enough to label the vehicle as lemon.
Do I have to file the claim within the first 18 months or 18,000 miles of ownership of the vehicle?
Not necessarily. If the vehicle is defective and if it is still under its manufacturer warranty coverage, then you can file a claim well past those 18 months or 18,000 miles. But, remember that if at least four repair attempts have been made within those 18 months or 18,000 miles or if the vehicle has been for repairs for a cumulative of 30 days, then it will be labeled as a lemon.
What remedies can I expect if I have got a lemon vehicle?
If your vehicle really turns out to be a lemon, then you may be compensated in several ways: you may be awarded cash settlement, refund or a replacement vehicle.
Do I need a Lemon Law lawyer?
Yes, cases with defective vehicles are easier to resolve with the help of a skilled California Lemon Law lawyer.